Evil Dead: A Movie Review

It was cool. Bruce Campbell is cool. Evil Dead is cool. So go see it.

k. bye.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Just kidding!

Movie reviews probably won’t be a regular feature because really, who am I to write a review? But I have an opinion and thanks to the internet, a blog. So there.

tumblr_mc2sntPTrT1rcb0d2o1_500

EVIL DEAD

1hr 31min‎‎ – Rated R‎‎ – Horror/Suspense/Thriller‎

Director: Fede Alvarez – Cast: Jane Levy, Shiloh Fernandez, Jessica Lucas, Lou Taylor Pucci, Elizabeth Blackmore
In the much anticipated remake of the 1981 cult-hit horror film, five twenty-something friends become holed up in a remote cabin. When they discover a Book of the Dead, they unwittingly summon up dormant demons living in the nearby woods, which possess the youngsters in succession until only one is left intact to fight for survival.
(via IMDB.com)

 

If you’ve read any of my previous posts or know me, I am a gigantic Bruce Campbell fan. I was in single digits the first time I saw Evil Dead (1981) thanks to my Uncles. I was forever traumatized by the angry raping tree and cabins. When I heard about the remake I did what any other person my age would do; complain via Twitter. Why did the world need another re-make? Why can’t they leave Evil Dead alone? WHY IS DIABLO CODY (SHE OF JUNO FAME) WRITING IT? UGH UGH NO.

Then Bruce Campbell and Sam Raimi got behind it. Then the director said he was in love with the original and wanted to do it justice. Then they said that all of the special effects would NOT be CGI. Then my opinion started to change.

Now I’m eating my words.

photo

Evil Dead (2013) surpassed my expectations. I loved the gore, I loved the easter eggs, I loved the nods to the original film, I loved the humor, I loved that it was essentially a love letter to Evil Dead (1980). I believe the first thing I said after we got out was “[unintelligible mumbling] woah.” I won’t go into to many spoilers, but Jane Levy was perfect for the role of Mia. Can she be our new scream queen? Please?

first-cut-of-evil-dead-slapped-with-nc-17-certificate-126974

I think that if you loved the original, you’ll leave the movie theater with a smile on your face.

Oh, and one more thing. STAY UNTIL AFTER THE CREDITS ROLL. YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED.

groovychainsawcrossstitch

-Lety

One response to “Evil Dead: A Movie Review

  1. It has its gore and blood that continues to shock the audience, but it really isn’t anything special that’s worth writing home about. Good review Marie.

Leave a Reply

