How I Keep Calm

The past three weeks have been absolutely crazy. I was on spring break two weeks ago and last week my sister and two of my nieces came to visit. Can you imagine running (literally) around New York City with a five year old and a three year old? I think that for the entirety of the week I was ready for a nap after breakfast! Since my life has been so chaotic, I’ve spent a lot of time thinking about all of the very special ways I am able to keep myself calm.

Since beginning my graduate program I have come to realize just how utterly important it is to take care of yourself. We all lead busy lives and it is easy to forget that your needs should come first, so last week, when I was running around trying to tame the children, my brain and my body kept screaming at me to take a moment for myself. Although I didn’t have time to do more than breathe, there are many ways that I have incorporated little “self-moments” into my day to help myself keep calm.

coffee and tea

I can’t start my day without a cup of coffee. It is the only way I can collect myself and have a productive day! And at night, a cup of tea instantly relaxes me!

crocheting my life away

My mammie (grandmother) taught me how to crochet when I was little. I hated it! In high school I picked it back up and I haven’t stopped since. I could go hours and hours at a time (hehe). PS that my friends, is a Jayne Cobb hat, oh yeah hero of canton.

cuddles with my kitties

no caption needed.

one more chapter

Books will always be one of my favorite things. Being able to read for enjoyment is something that I really appreciate as a graduate student and is one of the best ways to I get out of my head, at least for a little while.

journaling

Sometimes when I can’t sleep I just take my journal out and write until my hand hurts.

shred life

I’ve never been the athletic type. Although I’ve played some sports and had fun, I haven’t really enjoyed working out alone. I have recently started to change that and after a good shred my head feels really clear and centered.

bake

I have ALWAYS loved to bake. My Yiayia taught me growing up and I don’t think I’ll ever not enjoy my kitchen. When I am feeling upset, alls I need to do is grab some food and create something wonderful to feel better. Also, bake your grapefruit with a little bit of sugar ((it will change your life)).

hello thrifty

Finally, thrifting. A good hour or so in a thrift store hunting for treasures
is a great way to put everything behind you and get yo head straight.

During the next few weeks I am definitely going to be living my life and integrating all of these things as much as possible. I have six weeks left of graduate school and about seventy papers to write and a thousand deadlines to meet and meetings to attend. But even when life is this overwhelming, I make time to take care of myself, for it’s the only way I can effectively help others.

What are your favorite ways to keep calm? XOXO

alysse meow

Leave a Reply

