How to Make Swedish Chocolate Balls

One of my very close friends, Sarah, who I met at my graduate program is from Sweden. All of the food and recipes she talks about always sounds absolutely AMAZING, and I’m talking even better than the cafeteria at IKEA (which we LOVE).

A few weeks ago Sarah came over and made an incredible sausage and rice dish and then these CHOCOLATE BALLS for desert. When I placed that ball in my mouth it was like the heavens opened their gates and I was delivered into a land of buttery chocolate and oat goodness.

This week was incredibly busy, filled with deadlines and papers and midterms, so when I had a little bit of time to unwind, I decided to give these chocolate balls a go! It is a really simple no bake recipe, so here I am to share this with all of you, so you too can experience these balls.

((PS. CHECK OUT DAMIEN ECHOLS ON OUR FRIDGE))

what you'll need choc balls

All you need for this recipe is butter, cocoa, rolled oats, and sugar! It’s also fantastic if you roll the chocolate balls in coconut flakes, but sadly my coconut went bad. So all you need is:

3 cups of rolled oats

1/2 cup of cocoa powder

1 1/4 cups butter

1 cup of white sugar

Combine the sugar, cocoa powder, and rolled oats in a large bowl. Soften the butter at room temperature. Mix the butter into the dry mixture. You can use a spoon if you’d rather not get a little dirty OR if you are like me and don’t mind your fingers covered in some butter and chocolate then dig in with your hands!

_MG_4422

The mixture shouldn’t be very dry, nor wet. Just sort of in between. Next you want to take the dough and smush it into little balls. This part could be a little tricky because the oats like to separate, but just keep with it

smush it into balls

_MG_4443

Once the balls are formed, stick those babies in the fridge for about 1 hour (or longer). If you add coconut you’d want to roll the balls in the coconut before you put them in the fridge.

_MG_4451 _MG_4449

Honestly, it might be a little hard to wait until they have chilled in the refrigerator to eat them, if you are able to, then I applaud you (I might have stolen one before they were finished)! When they are finished, take them out and eat them up! It might be hard to stop. ❤

_MG_4453 _MG_4456

Also, I would like to end with a pat on the back because I just wrote this entire post about chocolate balls without even ONE “that’s what she said…” joke.

ENJOY!

alysse meow

Leave a Reply

