DIY: Decorative Plate.

Hello pretty ones!

I have seen a few DIYs for decorating ceramic mugs with sharpies and decided to try it out! Only one problem, I didn’t have a white ceramic mug! Well, I looked in my kitchen cupboard and realized that a while back we were donated about 8 small white ceramic plates, so I decided to give one a go.

what you'll need sharpies

All you have to do is create any silly or pretty or serious picture, words, absolutely anything you’d like with the sharpies right on the plate. I had a very hard time deciding what to draw; I thought about my kitty cats or something very inspiring (GEE!) but instead I decided to draw a small geometric pattern and a little quote that I keep close to my heart.

full belly writing

p.s. See my slippers? They’re little kitty faces.

full belly happy heart 4

Above was the first version. I decided that I wasn’t a huge fan of that little orange heart. So all I had to do was to take some window cleaner and a paper towel and wipe it off. I ended up rewriting the quote as well.

full belly happy heart2

Once you’re happy with your design, it’s time to place that baby right in the oven!

350˚ for 30 minutes should do the trick.

full belly happy heart

There was a big color difference after I baked the plate and the sharpie was set. The royal blue I chose ended up looking more like a green in the final product. However, I am very much happy with my new plate, and plan on placing it on the stove as a catch for our spoons when we’re cooking!

Hope you all create pretty pieces of art with your kitchen ware too!

XO

alysse meow

Leave a Reply

