What I’m Reading

It occurred to me today that I haven’t shared what I’m currently reading. It’s difficult for me to list because at any one moment, I could be reading 7 different books. But here’s what I’m loving.

DSC_0004


On Beauty
by Zadie Smith
This is my first Zadie Smith novel. I’ve heard great things about White Teeth and I was really excited to get a copy of On Beauty for the book club at work. I’m only about 100 pages in, but so far I’m in love with it. It is a beautifully written story and the characters are completely relatable. Though there are times where I want to kick one of the characters in the shins because he is annoying, but that’s ok! These families are written with a realistic dynamic. As soon as I’m finished with this book, I’m going to be picking up White Teeth.

Here’s the synopsis from Penguin.com:
On Beauty is the story of an interracial family living in the university town of Wellington, Massachusetts, whose misadventures in the culture wars-on both sides of the Atlantic-serve to skewer everything from family life to political correctness to the combustive collision between the personal and the political. Full of dead-on wit and relentlessly funny, this tour de force confirms Zadie Smith’s reputation as a major literary talent.

10th of December
by George Saunders
I’m not normally a fan of short stories, but I’ve heard so much about George Saunders from friends and coworkers that I decided to pick up his newest one. After the first story, I couldn’t believe I hadn’t read him earlier. I was blown away by how much one short 4 page story had such a profound impact. There’s a story that is only 2 pages that made me cry. I convinced Regina to buy another one his works so we can switch when I’m done. Each story is different but has a dark quality that I find so interesting.

From Amazon:
Writing brilliantly and profoundly about class, sex, love, loss, work, despair, and war, Saunders cuts to the core of the contemporary experience. These stories take on the big questions and explore the fault lines of our own morality, delving into the questions of what makes us good and what makes us human.

Anyways, I strongly recommend picking these two books up (or downloading them for you e-reader fans).

Leave a Reply

