Jukebox Hero

Yesterday afternoon, Alysse & I made a last-minute decision to go grab a few drinks. We haven’t had a night out in a while and I landed a pretty exciting internship a couple of weeks ago so we decided to celebrate. Our bar of choice for the occasion was South, a small place close to our apartment that usually has a nice crowd, decently priced drinks, an assortment of board games, and a jukebox.

image-1 image-2 image-3 image

It wasn’t too crowded and we managed to snag a booth near the back corner. We sipped on whiskey sours, got into an intense Connect Four game (I’m sad to report that I lost but it was very close), and had a field day with the jukebox.

I am a huge fan of jukeboxes–I don’t know where this love comes from or why it exists but I think they’re really entertaining and I love going to places that have them. If I were an eccentric millionaire, I would own a few of my very own. Why a few, you ask? Why not just one? Well, in this scenario, I am an eccentric millionaire and, in true eccentric millionaire fashion, I wouldn’t be happy with just one. Maybe one for each room or, if I’m feeling extra eccentric, maybe two for each room. Seeing as I’m not an eccentric millionaire, I have to rely on places like South to use them, and use it we did. We managed to scrap up enough money to play 14 tunes.

Here’s our picks, courtesy of Youtube.

“Three Cigarettes In An Ashtray” Patsy Cline

“Ball & Chain” Janis Joplin

“Bring It On Home To Me” Sam Cooke

“I Saw Her Standing There” The Beatles

“No Particular Place To Go” Chuck Berry

“Jolene” Dolly Parton

“You Make My Dreams” Hall & Oates

“Have Love Will Travel” The Sonics

“I Wanna Sleep In Your Arms” Modern Lovers

“Runaround Sue” Dion

“It Ain’t Me Babe” Bob Dylan

“We Gotta Get Out Of This Place” The Animals

“Paranoia In B Flat Major” The Avett Brothers

“Ballad Of El Goodo” Big Star

Leave a Reply

