Mixes In The Name Of Love (The Good, The Bad, & The Cheesy)

Valentine’s Day is around the corner and even though I’m not a huge fan of the holiday itself, I am a sucker for a good love song. With that in mind, I decided it would be a great idea to put together a mix for the occasion.

The only issue I had left to figure out was how to approach the topic. Did I want to make a mix about first attraction? Butterflies in your stomach? The happiness that love can evoke and create? Or did I want to focus on the dark side of love? The bitterness that follows a difficult break up? The introduction of regret and jealousy? Even still, I could choose to focus on classic love songs, the ones that everyone knows and remembers, some iconic and moving, others silly ‘guilty pleasures’.

After thinking long and hard about it, I came to a decision–why not do all the above? That’s right, folks. I’m going to be presenting you with three super cool mixes about that pesky little thing called L-O-V-E. I’ve decided to call this mix trifecta “The Good, The Bad, & The Cheesy“.

The first one up is ‘The Good’, a mix about the joy of love (you know, all that mushy stuff).

“Johnsburg, Illinois” Tom Waits
“The Book Of Love” The Magnetic Fields
“You You You You You” The 6ths
“With You In Mind” Marianne Faithfull
“Come Softly To Me” The Fleetwoods
“Dearest” Buddy Holly
“Love Is All Around” The Troggs
“Goin’ Out Of My Head” Little Anthony And The Imperials
“Stay” Maurice Williams And The Zodiacs
“Sherry” Frankie Valli & The Four Seasons
“Don’t Say Nothing Bad About My Baby” The Cookies
“Heaven Only Knows” The Shangri-Las
“Then I Kissed Her” The Beach Boys
“Game Of Love” Wayne Fontana & The Mindbenders
“Something To Shout About” The Exciters
“You’re A Wonderful One” The Trends
“I’ve Just Seen A Face” Ludella Black
“Head Over Heels” Mike Rabin And The Demons
“Shakin’ All Over” Johnny Kidd And The Pirates

Leave a Reply

