Introducing Regina Patterson

Whenever someone asks me to talk (or in this case write) about myself, I never know what to say. I get tongue-tied. This has been a bit of an issue for me in certain situations (think first dates, interviews, or any other conversation that involves answers to the question “tell me about yourself”) and as I sit here, attempting to put together some form of an introduction, I’ve reached a similar and all too familiar predicament. Please keep that in mind as I continue-hopefully these opening paragraphs won’t be as awkward to read as they were to write.

IMG_2498 copy

The basics: I was born in Mexico City, grew up in Providence, Rhode Island and got my bachelor’s degree at Boston University. A little over a year ago, I moved to Brooklyn, New York and I now live in my first real apartment with two wonderful roommates and two pesky little cats. I’m getting my masters in Media Studies at The New School and I celebrated my 24th birthday this year on March 27th.

what you can expect: What will become clear fairly quickly is that I’m an avid lover of music, a self-proclaimed film enthusiast, and a popular culture nerd. The majority of my contributions to Double Groove will fall under one of these three categories.

I had what I’ve lovingly come to call as a ‘classic rock childhood’. I grew up listening and loving all (or most of) the music my parents would play-songs ranging from Elvis Presley and Buddy Holly to The Talking Heads and even Radiohead-and this became a foundation and a springboard for the passion and interest I have in the subject today. I can’t really speak about my taste in music without being too general (I’m working on it). Truth is, I like a lot of different genres-I try to keep an open mind and I enjoy hearing new sounds of all types and varieties-but I am human and I do have my favorites. Same goes with films. I have directors whose filmography I adore and films I can watch over and over without getting tired of them, but I’m always looking for new films to view and to fall in love with.

Anything else? I’m full of useless trivia about 60’s musicians, 70’s films, and Saturday Night Live skits. I’m emotionally invested in many television shows and I take pride in my ability to quote, almost word for word, any episode of Seinfeld. I’ve got a silly school girl crush on Bruce Campbell, I collect vinyl, and I know a few tunes on the ukulele. I support recreational reading-everything from novels, short stories, and poetry to comics, graphic novels, newspapers, articles, and magazines. The more interest I have in a subject, the more I want to immerse myself in it. I want to hear and see everything I can and I hope I can share my experience here with you. Great things are in store for Double Groove–here’s hoping you decide to come along for the ride.

Feel free to get in contact with me!
-follow me on facebook
-@twitter
-follow me on tumblr
-listen to my 8tracks
-see my photographs on instagram
-follow my photo blog

One response to “Introducing Regina Patterson

  1. Pingback: Insta-Week | Double Groove·

Leave a Reply

